Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been an ongoing argument among individuals about whether they decide for their daily subjects (such as food, clothes, and hobbies) that lead to individualism in society or whether it is significant for them to decide about matters that affect their lives.

On the one hand, bringing up children who just think about themselves can lead to inequality in society. After they grow up, they just strive to figure out their problems and don’t think about others, which is the inevitable corollary of media and filmmakers who advertise the concept of individuality in their works. For instance, it can be seen people need help to solve personal matters but they have been taught that altruism is associated with weakness and they should rely on themselves. However, having sympathy for others neither is separated from being independent nor reduces the feeling of kindness.

On the other hand, when children grow up and accept responsibility, no one is going to solve their issues and they should learn to have priorities that impacts directly their future. If children don’t know how to cope with their key issues, they always wait for an extrinsic motivation that come and save them. For instance, I had a friend who never trusted himself in making decisions and always waited for the order of his parents. This is an inevitable corollary of a mindset that wants to kill self-independence and critical thinking in children.

In conclusion, although it is fundamental for parents to foster a sense of kindness and empathy in their children, self-independence and deciding for their life are higher priorities.