Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often debated that while some individuals believe that allowing children to make choices on everyday matters such as what they eat and what they wear is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own choice. Opponents believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. This essay will examine both perspectives in detail and provide relevant examples before presenting a reasoned conclusion.

Supporters of the first viewpoint argue that allowing children to make their own decisions in daily matters like what they want to eat and which environment suit them can lead them to self-centered behavior. When children are always encouraged to follow their personal preferences, they may fail to consider the needs of others. In the long term, this attitude could negatively affect society. For example, a child who is encouraged to make their decisions about daily things might eat unhealthy food or have a more screen time, which could lead the health problems and lack of social interaction.

On the other hand, opponents believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. In my opinion, this perspective is more convincing because involving them in decisions making is crucial for building responsibility and confidence. Allowing children to choose their clothes or hobbies may lead them to understand the importance of their decisions and develop problem solving skills. For instance, when children feel that their opinions are valued, they are more likely to become confident adults.

In conclusion, while allowing children to make their own decisions on everyday matters such as food, clothes and environment offers certain benefits, the arguments that children should make their decisions about matters that affect them is more convincing.