Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether children should not be allowed to make their own decisions in certain aspects of their life since this could lead to selfishness or whether such decisions also play a crucial role in children’s growing journey. Although both sides of the argument are worth exploring, I believe that children should be free to make choices by themselves under the careful instructions of their parents.

Those who advocate that children’s decisions should be made and controlled by parents may have some convincing arguments. They may well say that children will not be able to know which options are the most beneficial for them especially in terms of health and education. For example, when considering a program for a seven-year-old boy to entertain, parents tend to select some cartoons featuring adorable characters, attractive images and also foreign language lessons. As a results, their offsprings could not only have fun but also naturally absorb a second language by watching such videos, which could be replaced by short videos in social networking sites by the children themselves in the first place.

Despite the aforementioned arguments, I still believe that making self-choices would provide children with various benefits. First, if parents offer their children enough guidance and awareness, children can make right and appropriate choices by themselves and early learn to deal with the results afterwards. This would promote their decision-making and problems-solving skills, which would significantly benefit them in both academic performances and social connections in future. Furthermore, children who are free to decide are likely to be more confident to express themselves in many aspects of life such as food tastes, dressing styles and hobbies. Such permissions enable children to figure out their own interests and later be fulfilled with their own dream in comparison with those who are restricted in a future shaped by adults.

In conclusion, while adults are experienced and would do better in knowing what are the best for their children, I am of the opinion that children should be permitted to choose by themselves in certain situations. And the guidance from adults is indispensable to ensure they can make wise choices.