Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life.

The Impact of Art

Humans were performing art, or a form of it, even in the hunter and gatherer stages of humanity. And since then, Art has always been an essential piece of our lives. We express our deepest feelings and ideas using different forms of art. However, life is not only about our feelings and our desire to create.

As an adult who has worked hard to make a living for himself and his kids, thinking of art as a distraction from reality is acceptable. Today, most parents still think there is little to zero chance of making any money and sustaining a life in the art field. The teenage dreams of becoming a worldwide-known rockstar or a millionaire painter and leaving a part of ourselves to the future are no more than a child’s dream who has not experienced the world yet. It is a common idea among adults and especially parents. Parents expect their kids to have successful academic careers followed by jobs that will pay them huge amounts of money. We cannot blame them for the plans they made for their kids. Forms of art such as music or photography are just hobbies for the most. However, art is far more than being a distraction.

Firstly, art is a fundamental way of communication. It can be used to communicate with a specific person, a group of people, a generation or generations yet to come. Art is permanent and can be found at all times across the globe. It is an essential part of humanity. Secondly, it can touch one’s soul like nothing ever did. The extreme beauty of Van Gogh’s paintings, the complex structures of Picasso’s paintings, and the music of Mozart all have one thing in common. They were created by certain feelings and can create similar or completely different feelings in one’s mind.

In a nutshell, art can be perceived as a distraction, however, we should not underestimate the effects of it. It once helped us survive and communicate. Right now, it is helping us to face the difficulties of the real world. Art creates feelings and feelings are the reason why we are conscious, thinking living beings.