Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life.

It is really a stoic question that people of different sorts anticipate Art very differently. For ones Art really gives their lives the ultimate purpose and for others Art is just something that does not deserve their attention. How is it possible that something can have such opposite opinions from different people?

Let’s discuss arguments for the opinion that Art is really something that gives people a reason to live. The main obvious reason is that if a person feels joy or even happiness higher than any other just because of looking at painting or hearing music composition that alone proves that those creations have very high value for the person. Search for the meaning in life is a very fundamental question and if a man can suddenly feel that a certain type of Art gives an answer for that question, the answer not for the mind but for the soul, that Art itself becomes the meaning.

But what if a person does not feel anything looking at some painting or listening to some music? For such a person there is absolutely no meaning in spending time on Art since it does not bring anything for the mind or soul. There are indeed such people who do not understand any type of art, and for them Art is both useless and destructive because it does not give anything to them particularly.

The question of Art anticipation by different groups of people is very controversial, there is no objective truth that can be found for the question why the same piece of Art brings happiness to some people and nothing to the others, but as long as humans will exist there will be people who will create art and anticipate it.