Some people believe that art should primarily serve an aesthetic purpose, while others argue that it should convey powerful social or political messages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion."

In today’s interconnected world, there is a view that the core purpose of art should primarily serve an aesthetic landscape paintings. However, opponents claim that it should convey powerful social as well as political messages. In my view, I firmly believe that art should not merely seen as a beautiful picture but also meaningful, because it can influence people’s thoughts and raise awareness about crucial issues.

On the one hand, it is extremely vital for individuals to see aesthetic landscape paintings. By visiting an art gallery, many people may enjoy their time and feel relaxed. As most individuals value art predominantly for its aesthetic appeal. Therefore, when it comes to visiting the most ubiquitous museum in the world, which is called the Louvre, the majority of people often visit this museum for the Mona Lisa and Venus de Milo. Ultimately, these art pictures are highly valued in the contemporary world. A case in point is that powerful and famous artwork evokes emotion rather than simple admiration.

Nevertheless, art plays a fundamentally essential role in influencing individuals’ thoughts, fostering critical thinking and cultivating independent judgement. As political art can provoke critical reasoning among the public, which encourages citizens to express independent viewpoints. For instance, art can act as a catalyst for change in society; also, it can raise awareness about inequality and injustice. This demonstrates the importance of fostering critical thinking, cultivating independent judgement, and encouraging people to express their independent viewpoints in society.

To sum up, artworks should merely serve an aesthetic purpose, while simultaneously conveying powerful social and political messages. Consequently, art often allows subjective interpretation.