Some people believe that capital punishment should never be used. Others believe that it could be used for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crimes are the pressing issue of the world. Most people believe that capital punishment should not be implemented, while some perceive that it should be used for serious crimes. I firmly believe that capital punishment is vital to instill fear in people to prevent heinous crimes. This essay will discuss both perspectives and my belief on this.

The crime rates has surged in recent years. To prevent it from increasing into a chronic issue, strict actions must be taken. People witness crimes every day, whether it is bribery, stealing, or drunk driving. These are common crimes that do not impact society on a large scale, and so, the punishments are either to pay a fine or spend a few months or years in prison. However, heinous crimes like murder and rape take a lot away from victims, both physically and mentally. These kinds of serious cases lead to both short-term effects of physical injury and long-term effects of psychological and social trauma for victims, specifically for rape victims. It is imperative that the government implement rules and regulations regarding capital punishment to prevent such crimes from occurring and to foster a conducive environment. A primary example is India; India accounted for over 31,000 rape cases in 2022. In India, rape cases are not given capital punishment, and so, people are not afraid of the crime control system of the country. In contrast, in nations such as the United Arab Emirates and Afghanistan, rape is punishable by instant death. Furthermore, multiple studies show a percentage of less than 1.5% rape incidence in the United Arab Emirates due to capital punishment.

On the other hand, people believe capital punishment should not be used because it’s inhumane, violates human rights, and does not deter crime. The death penalty violates the right to life, which is the most basic of all human rights. It also violates the right not to be subjected to torture and other cruel, inhumane, or degrading treatment or punishment. Furthermore, the death penalty undermines human dignity, which is inherent in every human being.

To conclude, it is undeniable that capital punishment is vital for the safety and progress of the nations. Countries should implement this rule to prevent heinous crime from occurring and see the situation as ‘an eye for an eye’. Conversely, capital punishment violates human rights; however, it is not right on the behalf of the victims that the criminal has no set of boundaries, while they do. Therefore, capital punishment should be promoted and implemented for the overall good.