Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes.

Certain individuals are of the opinion that death penalty must be used for heinous crimes, whilst others think it should be done away with. I conquer with the former view and believe that it must be used for grave criminal acts. This essay will discuss both the perspectives in detail and provide a logical conclusion.

The primary reason behind awarding capital punishment is that it can act as a deterrent and induce fear in the minds of wrong doers. For instance, in Dubai, the rate of crime has drastically fallen down in last few years after the introduction of death penalty. Another factor is that it can ease down the burden on the administrative system as it is economically draining to sustain imprisoned criminals in jail for a very long time.

Despite the above-mentioned arguments, some people think otherwise. To begin with, it is believed that executing someone is against human rights as it is equivalent to killing someone. Instead of this, they should be re-educated and settled back in to the society. Moreover, certain offences are committed under grave circumstances and could not have been possibly avoided. For example, homicide under self-defense is one such situation and if capital punishment is given for it, it will be unfair.

In conclusion, warranting extreme penalty of death in atrocious acts of crime is a matter of debate. I believe it must be the style of retribution in such cases as it can scare people into not doing those and can also be financially a better choice for jail administrations. Nonetheless, some individuals do think that it is not human-right oriented and can be unjust in case of matters of self-defense.