Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that nowadays there are many types of punishment for criminals. However, there might be a debate as to whether capital punishment should be used or not. I will examine this question from both points of view and explain why I believe that capital punishment ought to be prohibited.

On the one hand, some people might claim that for committing very serious crimes, these criminals should not live. In other words, criminals who committed the most serious offenses, like killing someone and causing the deaths of people, do not deserve to live in society like other people. Another key factor to support their idea is that by allowing this, we can reduce the number of murders. To further elaborate, the threat of capital punishment can reduce the willingness of criminals to commit such evil crimes.

Despite the arguments above, I agree with those who tend to believe that it should not be used because no one can decide whether a certain person deserves to live or not. To put it another way, there may be many circumstances why the murderer killed the person. Of course, no circumstance justifies the situation or makes them innocent, but, for instance, providing that the person suffers from psychological disorders, he cannot control himself, so no one can judge him as purely evil. In addition, it is immoral to kill any person. To provide more context, it is not much different to kill the murderer and kill an innocent person, and by using capital punishment for criminals, we do not differ from them.

To conclude, in light of the things mentioned above, I feel convinced that we should not punish any person with capital punishment in that no one can decide who should die, and killing anyone is very immoral.