Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching tv and they should be encouraged to watch tv both at school and at home. To what extent you agree or disagree?

This is why, recently, more and more scholars have come to the conclusion that learning by watching TV allows children to learn effectively and it should be profilated to children both at home and school. Moving to my point, I disagree with the perspective, and I will support my answer with some underlying reasons.

Granted, advocates of acquiring knowledge via watching TV often emphasize that it can help children learn quickly and provoke their curiosity, facilitating the enhancement of their minds in accumulating new knowledge. Indeed, childhood is a period when everyone enjoys the simple pleasures of life and easily controls their actions, as well as having the innate ability of imitation and always pursuing new aspects. Nowadays, some programs on TV such as recreational, academic, practical channels can provide for children knowledge related to IQ math, history or moral actions, which not only help children relax after a long day of study and activities, but also pave the way for the development of children’s awareness of both academic performances and social issues. That’s why people believe that accumulating lessons via programs on TV plays a vital role in the overall growth of children effectively.

However, I would emphasize that exposure to online programs can harm children’s physical health and induce them to make misleading actions. To begin with, if children watch TV both at home and school, they would not have sufficient time to join outdoor activities. As a result, they might struggle with some difficulties about physical health, specifically disease such as obesity or problems with eyesight due to spending more time following those channels. By the same token, some programs on television show excessive violence, which excites the children. They may try to copy their superhero and get hurt in the process. Also, the crime shows instigate them to behave in rude or anti-social actions which eventually deteriorate their development.

In conclusion, while there are claims that television shows can contribute to the enhancement of children’s minds, I would contend that the programs on TV can harm them due to their unsuitable and passive features. According to me, elders should keep an eye on their wards, and allow them limited time for television at home and school.