Today, many young people enjoy shopping more than any other activity. Why do so many young people enjoy shopping? How might this trend affect people and society in the future? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern world, numerous youngsters are keen on engaging in shopping retail more than any other leisure pursuits. From my perspective, there are a few reasons for that, including social media marketing, entertainment and social activity. Furthermore, due to their excessive shopping, although businesses and workplaces are supported by them, young people may become materialistic and they may face financial challenges.

First of all, the major reason is social media and influencer marketing. In other words, due to advanced technology, individuals watch advertisements of products with digital tools, which drives them to make purchases. For example, when people scroll through online platforms, namely Facebook, Youtube, and Instagram, a large number of products are advertised by Youtubers or celebrities. Because of that, consumers decide to buy these things that are promoted. In addition, shopping is becoming a common activity for spending time with their friends or families due to their busy schedules.

Second of all, this has both positive and negative consequences. Despite economic growth, this can put pressure on their budget and their quality of life. If children purchase a lot of products, businesses can be enhanced with an abundance of income. Moreover, the total number of workplaces will sharply rise in the future. However, this is causing a lack of money for youths, such as an inability to buy things that they need. For instance, according to research by MSS in 2000, people will face economic issues because they have spent their money on unnecessary things. Consequently, this figure will increase by at least 76% over the next decade.

In conclusion, social media marketing and social activities are the main reasons for that. This trend is causing not only economic growth, but also severe financial issues for children.