Some people believe that children of all ages should have extra responsibilities (for example, helping at home or at work). Others believe that, outside of school, children should be free to enjoy their lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Children are constantly learning and developing. Some people believe this should include learning how to work and be responsible, while others disagree. There are pros and cons to both views.

Some children have no responsibilities within the home when their school day is over. These children learn how to relax from an early age. As a result, they are more likely to develop into adults who are also very relaxed about life. However, although this may seem ideal, it is also possible that, as children, they will become bored and lack self-discipline. Although some might enjoy spending time outside with their friends, how many would simply sit watching TV, or playing computer games? Consequently, as adults, they may be unmotivated or even irresponsible. This level of freedom would certainly affect a child’s development.

In contrast, children who are given responsibility from an early age would develop in a very different way. Even young children can be given simple daily chores. In this way, they learn to be responsible for themselves and not expect others to do things for them. Those who help their parents at work, for example in a family restaurant or shop, would also surely learn a great deal about life. Nevertheless, this idea can be taken too far. Children who are forced to work from a very young age can miss out on education because of this, and experience many of the stresses of adult life. Therefore, sensible limits on this type of work are needed.

In my view, there are benefits to both approaches. It is important for all children to know how to relax and enjoy life, but also to balance this by being responsible when necessary. In this way, they are more likely to grow into well-rounded adults with a healthy work-life balance.