Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed that pupils should be prohibited from using their phones during the school day. However, others hold the view that pupils should be permitted to use their phones. I believe that using the phone may negatively affect pupils’ attention during the school day.

On the one hand, many parents allow their children to use phones at school to ensure their safety, because parents can be reassured about their children’s location and they can call their children in emergency situations. Nevertheless , it is not always about safety. Sometimes parents might use phones to monitor their children’s activities excessively, therefore they limit children’s social freedom which causes children’s stress and anxiety and reduces trust between parents and children.

On the other hand, allowing pupils to use phones in school can negatively affect their attention in class. For instance, a large number of pupils who use their phones may play games, chat with someone or browse social media instead of focusing on studies. Furthermore, they may lose interest in class, become less focused and less concentrated which is harmful for their academic performance. In addition, teachers lose control of lessons due to children’s lack of interest. Although phones are sometimes used for safety, I firmly believe that there are many negative consequences of pupils using a phone during the school day.

In conclusion, all these negative facts outweigh the benefits children using a phone in school and also have negative effects on their educational achievements, I am strongly against for it.