Some people believe that children should focus on academics only, while others think extracurricular activities are equally important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that providing more extracurricular activities is necessary to contribute to students’ overall development at school, while others believe that schools should focus mainly on academic knowledge. While both viewpoints are valid to some extent, I believe that academic learning is a vital way to support the development of students.

On the one hand, there are several compelling reasons supporting the idea that schools should provide more social activities for students. Nowadays, students always face academic pressure and lack social skills, which is mainly because many schools spend a significant of time teaching the academic knowledge for their students rather than providing activities for them to have more soft skills. As a result, students have difficulty in communication, teamwork and lack of confidence in group activities. Therefore, schools need to encourage students and provide more extracurricular activities to help them develop entirely some soft skills besides their academic knowledge.

On the other hand, others argued that academic learning should mainly concentrate for students at school. Nowadays, knowledge always have an important role for the development of a country and many schools always try to spent a lot of time exchanging knowledge with students to help them develop in an entire way. This is mainly because society highly compete and requires people have a strong learning foundation. As a result, when students who have good knowledges will have more opportunities to find a good job in the future. In addition, students with good learning achievements will have a stable income in the future. Therefore, academic learning need to prioritize because there is a sentence which always passed down through many generations ” Learning is not the only path to success, but it is the strongest and safest path to success”.

In conclusion, although this approach has certain benefits, it also has some notable drawbacks. Therefore, I believe that a balanced approach should be adopted.