Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think that the children's parents should be punished instead.

Juvenile criminals are considered as a serious problem in modern society since their number has been going up every year. A number of people argue that these young criminals deserve their punishment while others believe that their parents must be ones who should bear it. In this essay, I am going to look at both points of view and then deliver my opinion.

On the one hand, it is clear that anyone who commits a crime must be punished in some ways. This is because the sentence will be a lesson for these convicts. In other word, it makes them think again before they do something illegal. For example, in Vietnam, a teenager who murdered someone will not have to face death penalty or life sentence but will be put some special school until they are old enough to be trialed. This, therefore, has helped to keep the number of young convicts in Vietnam quite low.

On the other hand, I believe that parents are to blame for their children’s crimes due to the fact that they are responsible for upbringing their offspring. Responsible fathers and mothers will do their best in teaching their sons and daughters to be good people while irresponsible ones will do the opposite. A survey done in a special school in HCM for young criminals reveals that the majority of them come from unhappy families where parents either fight every day or get divorce. Clearly, this shows that parents play a crucial role in educating their children and they have to face the law if their children steal or sell drugs.

In conclusion, while it is true that any criminals should be punished regardless of their ages, I tend to think that parents to be the ones to get responsibility if their children do illegal things.