Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty, however others think that crime is a result of a bad person's nature.

There has always been a long debate among psychologists about whether it is nature or nurture that influences people’s decisions. While there is a common belief that social issues are the major factor in crimes, others assume that crime stems from the inherent personality of an individual. In my perspective, crime is a result of both societal issues and the behavior of individuals to combat social norms

Firstly, it is undeniable that societal problems such as homelessness and poverty force people to commit crimes in certain circumstances. For instance, when the Covid-19 pandemic hit in 2020. Widespread unemployment and poverty contribute to the rising crime rate as people need money to meet their needs to live. This suggests that the environment can foster a person’s mindset to behave in such ways

On the other hand, it is significant to notice that criminals are heavily influenced the the broad community. Social media platforms widely promote gang-related content, making it easier for teenagers to be exposed to the gang culture.

Besides, a person’s circumstance can provide insights into their behavior, though social issues are still the root cause. For instance, if an individual commits minor theft at first, they would have a higher chance of committing further crimes which leads to addictions as a means of making money. Over time, they might view it as a legitimate occupation and habit.

In conclusion, crime is a result of both survival instincts and individual preferences. Survival instinct might force people into illegal activities, and the environment that they are exposed to plays a relatively similar role in shaping their actions