Some people believe that exploring outer space is important because it expands human knowledge and might lead to discoveries that will benefit humanity in the future. Other people believe that space exploration is a waste of money that could be better spent solving immediate problems here on Earth

It is a true fact to consider that there has been a great debate on whether to spend a huge amount of money to explore outer space or not. Considering this, there are some analysts who hold an opinion that spending money for the exploring outer space is most important due to the expansion of human knowledge, while other consider that as a money wasting activity and opine that it can be better used to mitigate some urgent matters we have in this world. This essay will show assertion on both sides of the contention before arriving at a reasonable conclusion.

First and foremost, poverty could be a significant factor why space research should be given less priority. It is generally seen thousands of people everyday starve or lack from very basic human needs. A large number of people in the world are still struggling to find foods, clothes, medicines etc. and the amount of money we are spending just to reach further in the space or to know more is overwhelming. So many people consider space research as an unnecessary activity while they focus on eliminating more pressing problems are living in. Fatal diseases could be another burning problem that needs more research and prevention. So money and manpower used for space exploration are not justified to many.

There are some groups who are in favour of spending more money to explore outer space for the improvement of human knowledge, in spite of views discussed above regarding waste of money that are valid reasons for spending money for the exploring outer space. These groups of people believe that space exploration is required for our own benefits: to search for other intelligent species, to understand the universe, to find more resources for human or even to find a suitable place in another planet for human to live. They believe that wars, crime and corruptions are causing more problems and costing more than the outer space exploration. They feel that we should understand the model of our universe and learn the history of it for the greater good of human.

In summary, undoubtedly, spending a portion of the budget to explore outer space should be allowed; however, as far as I am concerned, governments should take more responsibilities to improve nations and ensure basic human needs before spending too much on outer world research.