Some people believe that family members are more important than friends. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

In contemporary society, the importance of family members over friends is stressed by some individuals. While I acknowledge the merits of friend companionship, I contend that family members hold a more crucial position in our life.

Undeniably, a large circle of friends is indispensable for an interesting and dynamic life. Engaging in outdoor activities alongside our friends ensures a good relaxation and nurtures open-mindedness. A drink between friends allows us to have a happy time and cast our troubles to the wind. The companionship of friends enriches our lives by bringing unforgettable moments full of joy and surprise. Furthermore, establishing friendship serves as an important lesson in our life as it teaches us the way to socialize and get on well with others. Certain significant traits, such as inclusiveness, forgiveness and tolerance, would be developed in the process of nurturing friendship, which contributes to personal development in the workplace.

Nevertheless, I believe that families are of paramount importance to us. The most obvious reason is their unconditional support. They are a tower of strength, giving us their selfless love and helping us to overcome difficulties. For example, retired parents usually allocate a large part of their pension to their children in an attempt to alleviate their financial burden of paying housing loans. Moreover, their loyalty is a strong protection from potential harm. They will stand side by side with us, encourage us and give us necessary help rather than abandoning us, as some fair-weather friends might act in difficult times. The courage we derived from the love of our families constitute a strong power that enables us to weather the storm and starts a new life.

To conclude, while friends are essential to our life, their significance will inevitably be dwarfed by company of our families. I firmly believe that love, courage and hope imparted by family members enable us to pull through in adversities