Some people believe that government should spend money on building train and subway line to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is a better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

To ease traffic congestion, whether the expenditure should be spent on constructing railway and subway networks to enhance the efficiency of road systems remains a source of controversy. However, I would personally stand with this solution instead of expanding the existing roads.

On the one hand, the authority should improve road systems by building more and broader roads in order to deal with traffic congestion. Firstly, since cars are likely to be the most viable mean of daily transport, roads should be able to bear the increasing number of cars. The more cars are used, the worse congestion problems are. Because of this, there is no doubt that improving the road system is an obvious way to solve the issue. In addition, it would be more convenient for commuters to travel by roads because they are directly connected to destinations without stopping at any station.

On the other hand, I would argue that building train and subway systems are the better methods to cope with traffic congestion. Firstly, the fact that commuters using personal cars often travel alone leads to inefficient use of car and road space, whereas just one train is able to carry hundreds of passengers simultaneously. Apparently, train and subway networks would contribute to saving more traffic space thus reducing traffic congestion. Moreover, there is no doubt that travelling by public transport system such as train and subway lines would help protect the environment since those means of transport emit much less carbon dioxide than cars.

In conclusion, I would restate that if government prioritizes building train and subway lines instead of constructing more and wider roads, traffic congestion would be reduced more efficiently.