Some people believe that government should spend money on building train and subway line to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is a better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is generally believed that allocating state budgets to establish more trains and subway lines can effectively decrease the traffic jams whereas others are of the view that expanding the size of roads is a superior approach for such a purpose. Although both views offer merit, I agree more with the former perspective.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why building more roads and widening them would be a better method. It is true that during rush hours, citizens often face tremendous traffic congestion because of the excessive volume of vehicles. As a result, if the governments build more routes, people may receive more travelling options, helping them avoid vehicular congestion. Coupled with this, a bigger size of roads may offer more lanes for various means of transport, declining the density of traffic and helping avoid traffic jams.

On the other hand, some others argue that trains and subway lines should receive more financial support for reducing traffic congestion. In fact, the public transport system, including trains and subway lines, is underdeveloped in some countries, preventing citizens from utilizing these systems. Not only does it often take a long time for arrival, but the lack of destinations also makes it inconvenient for people. For instance, a student spends a long time walking from the train station to the school. Thanks to the investment, individuals would be encouraged to use these systems. Consequently, helping alleviate the number of private vehicles and directly reduce traffic jams.

In conclusion, despite the differences of perspectives, I assert that investing money on upgrading public transportation will yield long-term benefits, in contrast, the widening and expanding roads are just a temporary solution. Therefore, the former opinion totally outweighs the latter ones.