Some people believe that governments should invest more in public transportation systems to reduce traffic congestion and pollution. Others think that building more roads and highways is the better solution. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recent scientific studies indicated that the quality improvement in both factors of public transportation and road infrastructure influence traffic congestion and the amount of environmental emissions, significantly. However, the effectiveness of each from these factors is different depending on their necessity level for upgrading, for the considered country. For instance, in developed nations such as Scandinavian countries, the urban street substructures, and general transportation have been progressed by governmental supports to an exemplary extent . Currently, the level of improvement they are following up it involves the construction of sub-sea road tunnels for example between Finland and Estonia to reduce the traffic load on carrying cars and people by ships to the center of Europe. Plus, these governments have been deciding to use EVs and hybrid options such as hydrogen-based vehicles for many years. They also have promoted the using electric bikes and scooters in the urban transportation literally. Such approaches straightly highlight the role of their governments in views of the situation analysis, policymaking, and proper investment, in solving the traffic swarm challenge and reducing carbon footprint.

Against, developing countries like India, due to unbridled population growth as well as the lag of their basic infrastructure in general culture, technology, and pathways, have a different situation in term of governmental decision making for the corrections. The issues of their transportation system and pollution aren’t solved by the same actions today the Scandinavian countries are performing to enhance their own welfare. Are the substructures of quality and transmission for the required energy of India’s transportation system aligned with global standards? Considering that a lot of polluted cities such as New Delhi are located in this country, I don’t think so. First, their technology of transportation vehicles should be touched to normal standard level. For example, their statesmen should remove or replace the older automobiles and motorcycles which due to engine failure burn oil and emit pollutants, within a suitable policy, and also be going to recognize and develop alternative energy supply sources like solar electricity stations to support an electric-based transportation system for such a large population. Do India’s statesmen correctly implement these policies and investments? Time will tell about their success amount in traffic management and reducing environmental pollution, in line with such realist approaches.

With reliance on these arguments could conclude that governmental investment might simultaneously take place in both sections of public transportation and road infrastructure with the aims of addressing traffic throng and emissions; However, this depends on the necessity level for each one and the initial infrastructure’s situation in the desired country. Thus, providing a unit instruction for how such an investment for all countries – from developed to developing – doesn’t seem logical. Rather, the countries’ real conditions in aspects of the economy, energy resources, transportation capacity, the current status of infrastructure, idea implementation feasibility, climate, public culture, etc., should be investigated before any actions by their policymakers and statesmen. Then, policies and investments should be made in the desired sector based on obtained scientific and realistic evidence.