Some people believe that governments should invest more in public transportation systems to reduce traffic congestion and pollution. Others think that building more roads and highways is the better solution. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that the authority should invest more money into the improvement of commuter services in order to mitigate traffic jam. Whereas, others have different perspective which is adding more routes. This essay strongly agrees that investing in shared transportation can lead to an effective solution.

Enhancing public transportation by increasing investment will encourage citizens to use public commuters rather than private vehicle. The rising number of self-owned vehicles on roads is a prime reason for traffic congestion. It becomes arduous for traffic controller to regulate vast amount of vehicles. A public bus can carry more passengers than a private vehicle. For instance, a regular car can only accommodate four to five passengers whereas a bus can carry around fifty passengers, thus, decreasing the number of privately owned vehicles on roads.

Increasing the number of highways can be considered as a viable alternative. But due to high cost and lack of area for building new roads makes this plan difficult to execute. It is not only an expensive measure but also takes a lot of time and may cause suffering to the public. For example, Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, is a densely populated area. To provide accommodation to its citizen, more building was constructed which resulted in reduced area to build more routes inside the city. Moreover, during the addition of new highways and roads often lead to more traffic jam as the usable roads become narrow and so this essay do not impel to extend routes.

While facilitating public transportation is a feasible resolution to traffic congestion, some still feel that plotting new routes would direct to a permanent solution. However, as long as the authority can motivate citizen to use public vehicles as their main medium of transportation, the benefits of spending money to elevate public transportation is clearly positive.