Some people believe that governments should spend more money on railways than on highways. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some individuals argue that government funding ought to be allocated to railways instead of roads. From my perspective, governments should prioritize investment in railway building. In this essay, I will elaborate on why spending money on railways is beneficial to people’s lives and urban development.

To begin with, the demand for railways has tremendously increased in modern society, for the obvious reason that an increasing number of people need to commute from one place to another. For instance, since China adopted the policy of reform and opening-up, the Chinese economic boom has given rise to the mass migration of Chinese people. Millions of young Chinese leave home and move to more affluent regions in search of better work opportunities. In the meantime, China has witnessed a rapid development of railways, especially high-speed rails. The Chinese government’s initiative to build railways has assisted numerous Chinese workers to travel more easily and more efficiently. To some extent, trains and high-speed rails have positively contributed to Chinese social mobility and well-being.

Additionally, when it comes to city planning, railways are more conducive to economic growth than roads. According to some economic research, trains are by far the most cost-effective way to transport goods and labor over long distances. With the advent of high-speed rails, trains are now capable of carrying travelers and commodities from one city to another in a more time-efficient way than ever. One classic example is Eurostar, which links two of the most economically prosperous European cities—London and Paris. Ever since Eurostar came into service, both London and Paris have considerably benefited from the flow of people between the two countries. British and French professionals of all walks of life can easily go on a business trip in the morning and return home at night. As a result, this train plays a crucial role in enhancing London-Paris trade and business.

To conclude, railway construction should be a priority for government funding projects rather than roads.