Some people believe that housing is a basic human right for all individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, individuals have a basic right to housing. Although this trend may have some damage to nature and biodiversity, I agree with this statement because of the unstoppable growth of the population and the natural expansion of the people.

It is obvious that the volume of the earth’s population has been rising for thousands of years. This phenomenon comes with the need for more housing. However, in order to meet the demands, people are cutting trees in forests and encroaching on more natural zones for the construction of accommodations. This, unfortunately, leads to the loss of numerous shelters for rare animals and causes their extinction. While simultaneously, constructing new houses is also hugely impacting climate change since the use of transport and machinery for construction is excessively emitting carbon dioxide.

However, the expansion of the population is unstoppable, and there is always a demand for more houses. By nature, humans tend to leave when they become mature, like birds leaving their nests. And this trend can be seen when young people leave their parents’ homes as soon as they have an opportunity to own a house in many nations today. Since this migration of seeking new places to live or making a family in the long run boosts the demand for homeownership. Every single normal person has a desire to build or buy a shelter. It is a kind of basic necessity and a natural aspect of human behavior that cannot be regretted.

To conclude, despite some damage to nature and habitats caused by housing, I still completely agree that people have the right to build or own a house because of their natural desire for it.