Some people believe that in the future, most cities will become unlivable due to pollution and overcrowding. Others think technological innovation will solve these problems. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

According to some, the majority of cities may become uninhabitable because of pollution and overcrowding. However, others believe that these issues can be overcome by technological advancements. In this essay, I will analyze both points of view and highlight my own stance on the topic.

Supporters of the former opinion claim that the Earth might not sustain life in the future. Firstly, pollution is highly likely to become the main reason why people should find an exoplanet to live in. As the air we breathe is being contaminated with different chemical particles and the streets are full of noise pollution, people are being exposed to various health disorders. Tashkent can be a perfect case in point, where the number of people with respiratory diseases and sleep deprivation is ever-increasing. Secondly, urban cities are getting overpopulated due to rural migration, which is significantly lowering life quality in cities.

Those who consider that technological breakthroughs can come to the rescue present some valid arguments as well. One of them is that turning to clean energy can significantly reduce the carbon footprint of each individual, resulting in better air quality. For instance, China has considerably reduced its CO2 share through its mass production of electric cars. As for overpopulation, technological advancements such as nuclear power stations are able to provide far rural places with enough amount of energy, which should urge people to return to their hometown. This, in turn, may make a huge positive difference in cities’ population density.

Personally, I side with the latter opinion since humanity has overcome many unprecedented challenges by integrating science with human intelligence over the course of history. As a striking example, a global pandemic, COVID 19 was defeated with the help of vaccines based on innovative technologies, which can prove the power and mighty of innovations.