Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will meanthat we are unable to live on this planet, In order to survive, the humanspecies will need to find anotherplanet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Rapid industrialization and growing secondary economic sectors (manufacturing and mining) in producing goods and services comes along with harmful side effects such as carbon emission that affects the environmental sustainability of this planet. Consequently, human lives could get affected in the long run and may not be a fit to live in this planet.

I am quite partial to believe that carbon emission by vehicles can cause thinning of the ozone layer in the atmosphere, which undeniably causes the UV radiation from the sun to permeate through the earth. As a result, the harmful effect from this event can cause skin cancer to human which is really fatal to our species. Therefore, in the long run, the air content will be filled with high proportion of toxic gases like nitrogen dioxide and carbon monoxide which is not breathable for humans or even animals. Realising this circumstance, scientists and astronomists have been working day and night to find a possible solution to tackle this problem. They have conducted research to see whether other planets are habitable for human species. Not to mention that, NASA has sent few aspiring astronomist to our neighbouring planet, Mars, to conduct various experiments on the air quality as well as water resources.

Nevertheless, a truth should be explicitly stated that eventhough it is conceptually striking and theoritically possible, it is incredibly inconvenient for humans to migrate to a whole different planet. Considering the costs associated with this idea, it is difficult in terms of transportation to another planet and it’s living condition. There are many factors that needs to be adressed such as the expenses incurred to carry out such project. Therefore, I believe that humans need to take responsibility to take care of our planet earth through minimising carbon emission. For instance, people should consider car-pooling or even using public transport to travel to different places as it could migitate the risk of toxic gases like carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide that could be released to the atmosphere.

To sum it up, I am quite inclined to believe that human species can survive this planet without the need of other planet as there are myriad of ways to curb this issue.