Some people believe that it is good for a country's culture to show imported films and TV programmes. Other people think it is good to make their own films and TV programmes instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Films and TV shows are an essential part of entertainment that people enjoy in their free time. However, it is believed that countries should import international movies and TV shows, others think that it is great to develop their own entertainment industry. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions about this phenomenon and finally I will provide my own view.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why it is beneficial to develop local films. To begin with, domestic films usually focus on local history, language, customs, and social issues. The reason for this is that historical dramas and traditional stories can teach younger generations about their nation’s heritage. As a consequence, movies produced in local countries help them stay connected to their cultural identity instead of becoming overly influenced by foreign lifestyle. Furthermore, successful local productions can bring profit to the country. This occurs because producing movies and TV shows locally creates more jobs for actors, directors, writers, and many other workers in the media industry. As a result, this can reduce unemployment rate and provide both economic and social benefits for the country.

On the other hand, some people argue that there are some advantages of importing foreign movies and TV shows. From this perspective, foreign films and TV shows make people more open-minded and improve cultural awareness. This stems from the fact that, they allow viewers to understand other countries’ lifestyles, traditions, and values. Consequently, people who watch more foreign films, may not face cultural difficulties when they travel overseas. In addition, many international movies and programs have large budgets, advanced technologies, and experienced actors. The underlying reason is that watching such contents can give more effective entertainment to people and also inspire local film makers to improve the standarts of their own media industry. Accordingly, the local production industry may become more creative and competitive.

In conclusion, there might be some reasons to think that local films can enhance countries’ economic and social growth. However, I firmly believe that it is better to import international movies and TV shows. This is because people can get more entertainment due to high standards and workers in the media can improve their work.