Some people believe that it's wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important.

People have different views about keeping animals in captivity or missing them in their native lands. Some argue that unnatural ways of enclosing animals create dependencies, while I believe that zoos can have a huge impact on ecology and entertainment.

People opposed to zoos think that these kinds of places diminish animals’ independence from the environment. For example, in zoos, animals are fed by a workforce, which affects their natural behaviors like hunting, so it creates reliance on people and hamper their ability to adapt to a new environment when relocated. The same is true for the restrictions the animal needs. Regarding elephants, they are known to travel 30 to 50 kilometers in a day; keeping them in small areas might affect their psychological health, resulting in depression. Not only elephants but also other wild animals can suffer from being forced into confined areas as well.

In spite of these arguments, I believe that zoos play a paramount role in both animal and human life. Firstly, children’s awareness about animals could be raised. Generally, youngsters attend zoos for the purpose of entertainment; in this case, they also gain knowledge of wild life, as zoos give only that opportunity, which is impossible. Secondly, in captivity, we are able to protect species from danger for the next generation. For instance, hunters stalk animals in order to earn money, as fashion demands the leather and fur of predators and reptiles. As a result, all preserve the global ecosystem for future benefit.

To conclude, although zoos might seem like an unnatural way of keeping animals, I personally prefer them because of their crucial role in our pleasure and ecosystem.