Some people believe that old buildings should be protected by law. Others, however, think that they should be replaced by new buildings. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Throughout history, architecture has always played an integral role in tourist attraction and reflected the culture of the individuals who lived there. However, some people believe that the government should maintain old buildings, while others hold a different perspective; they are interested in demolishing old buildings and constructing new ones. In this essay, I will discuss these distinct viewpoints in advance to present my perspective.

Ancient architecture presents a variety of valuable phenomena, such as art, beliefs, and the culture of humanity in the past. The majority of people are curious about the methods used in the past; moreover, old buildings help to boost the tourism industry, from which governments can gain revenue through tourist spending. “The past is the identifier of civilization; hence, historical buildings, which adequately define the past, must be protected.

On the other hand, some individuals believe in tearing down historic buildings and replacing them with modern structure. Nowadays, people’s lives have changed compared to the past, and as a result, they gravitate towards modernized constructions. As the demand for new constructions increases, building owners are interested in developing their properties.

In conclusion, although modernizing homes has some benefits, for instance, making life easier than before and reducing the costs of maintaining old buildings, I always feel nostalgic when I visit ancient architecture. The government should allocate a large proportion of funds to make an effort in preserving art and architecture from the past. I hope the next generation can observe ancient constructions just as we do.