Some people believe that online education is better than traditional education. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people consider online education to be a better alternative to traditional teaching. I totally disagree with this statement because of lack of face-to-face interaction and communication, and low motivation and discipline.

University provides us with networking. For many students, interaction with their peers is one of the best aspects of university education. For example, students like to meet regularly and talk to people on the same course. However this kind of interaction on a distance learning course is less common. differ slightly within the two modes of delivery. Also with face-to-face learning, the teacher and student have the opportunity to develop a personal relationship through lectures, seminars and tutorials. This is different from a distance-learning course, where the teacher may seldom or indeed never actually meet the student. This may make it hard for teachers to understand their learners’ specific learning needs.

Online courses require discipline and high motivation. In traditional teaching, students follow schedule, attend classes regularly, and are guided by their teacher. This helps them stay focused and motivated. In contrast, online learners need strong self-discipline, which many students, especially younger ones may struggle with. They must be highly motivated in order to do well on the distance-learning courses. Moreover learning remotely is heavily dependent on technology, particularly the internet. In traditional learning systems, students need stationery or just a computer.

In conclusion, traditional learning is superior to online education because it allows students to communicate directly with their classmates and teachers. On the other hand, online education is more suitable for self-disciplined and highly-motivated students.