Some people believe that personal happiness is directly related to economic success, others believe that there are other factors. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People tend to have different perceptions about what constitutes happiness. A lot of controversy has prevailed as to what makes people happy. Some people are of the opinion that happiness roots from financial gain while others hold that happiness is driven by other elements. This essay will examine both views and try to reach a conclusion.

On the one hand, some people subscribe to the view that money can buy happiness. In their opinion, when people are in possession of huge assets such as real estates, cars and gold, they are likely to live a care-free life. That means they can afford to pay for high-quality healthcare service and comfortable living conditions. Another argument in favor of the idea that money brings people happiness is that wealthy people tend to be looked up to and admired by the majority, which translated into a sense of pride in them. A telling example of this is Bill Gates – one of the richest people in the world. Wherever he goes, he often receives red carpet treatment, and even warm welcoming of the head of state, which certainly brings him the sense of pride and happiness that no ordinary person can experience.

On the other hand, people holding that happiness may come from other sources have a number of compelling reasons to justify their position. They claim that being in good health always makes people happy. The reason is that the brain releases a type of dopamine, which keeps humans in high energy levels. Therefore, people often feel more optimistic and energetic, which supports them when faced with challenges. Another factor underlying happiness is the healthy relationship with relatives, friends and people surrounding. Such relationships help individuals feel valued and understood, becoming a solid emotional support. Additionally, thanks to good relationships people are more likely to overcome their stress and improve their well being.

In conclusion, this essay has examined 2 schools of thought about what makes people happy. Personally, I am convinced that people in each age period define their happiness differently. For students, getting a good academic achievement can make them happy. Adults may feel satisfied when they get a promotion in their jobs or have stable income. All and all, what constitutes happiness changes by personal perception.