"Some people believe that physical education is as important as academic subjects in educational institutions, while others think it should be optional. Discuss both views and give your opinion."

Physical education, as a subject or as a go-to extracurricular activity, has been debated for decades. Proponents of mandatory and regular athletic programs say they are just as important as the studies students pursue in class. Physical exertion is essential to one’s health and wellbeing and also alleviates stress while enhancing mental sharpness aiding students to excel academically. Participating in soft skill building activities encourage foundational teamwork and leadership skills that contributes significantly towards a person’s holistic growth.

On the other hand, some believe physical training should not be compulsory. They fear the reduction of hours allocated to subjects such as mathematics or science, particularly for students who are not inclined toward sports. They rather feel that children should be able to decide how they want to spend their free time, based on their interests.

Physical development, in my opinion, should be given at least equal importance to mental development, as physical activities not only keep students physically fit and healthy, but also enhance their mental health and their ability to handle depression and anxiety by reducing overthinking and keeping them joyous and busy. A balanced curriculum that incorporates both academic studies and fitness-oriented sessions will make students healthier and more mentally developed. It is with this balance that students can shine academically and in life.