"Some people believe that physical education is as important as academic subjects in educational institutions, while others think it should be optional. Discuss both views and give your opinion."

Today, emphasis is placed significantly on education and it is frequently viewed as the factor that predicts achievement. This has raised recurring arguments as to what needs to be incorporated into the school curriculum. There are various individuals who believe that physical education is as vital as subjects at school and should be part of the fundamental areas of schooling. Others feel that it must be an elective. Both arguments have merit, and this essay will discuss both sides before giving a personal opinion.

Physical education proponents usually emphasize the importance of physical education in the well-rounded growth of students. Exercise and sports help develop a healthy life style, which is particularly relevant to this day’s screen-crazed world. Apart from physical well-being, sports and exercises also foster good life qualities like teamwork, discipline, stress handling, and self-knowledge. These are not only valuable in school, but also in future jobs and life. Also, physical education can be a confidence builder for those students who don’t necessarily do well in academics. For them, it provides an arena where they will do well and feel competent, which will have a positive effect on their self-worth.

Conversely, there are those who feel that physical education must be secondary to academic courses such as mathematics, science, and languages. These are viewed as critical areas of study for accessing higher education and professional opportunities in the future. In this view, physical education becomes less of a priority and can be provided as an elective — something that interested students may take, but not something required by all students.

In conclusion, though it is apparent that academic topics are essential for later success, I think that physical education is also important in the development of well-rounded people. Physical activity encourages not just health but also critical social and emotional capabilities. Thus, it should remain an integral part of the school curriculum along with academic subjects.