Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, how to persuade talents to stay and serve the local state ignited a hot discussion. Some believe that experts in a particular field should contribute their efforts to the original place where they received their education, while others argue that talents have the right to decide to work for another destination. From my point of view, I stand for the latter statement.

There might be some plausible explanation for their commitment to the country where they acquired their specialized skills. This is because local governments may allocate huge funds to train specialists in certain domains. On top of this, the amount of time required to carry out useful projects spent on these prospective experts is immense. The result is that it seems to be the responsibility of these professionals to repay by contributing their time, knowledge and skills to the development of the country where they studied.

Deciding where to work is, however, a personal choice. That is to say, people make job choices depending on their own circumstances. For example, people may want to expand their horizons by studying abroad, but they may decide to return to their original nationality to apply what they have learned. In this way, the country that received overseas students can earn tuition fees, while the country that accepted fully trained talents can tap into/leverage prepared knowledge and skills in certain fields. That is a win-win solution. Besides, by exchanging culture and knowledge through these future experts, technological gaps between countries can be narrowed meaning that/which means some less developed countries that are struggling to improve their capabilities in certain areas, such as medicine, can reap huge benefits.

In conclusion, although it seems reasonable to request future talents to serve the country for which they received their knowledge, I still take the view that these professionals are free to decide for whom they will work.