Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

For the past few decades, most African countries has increasingly suffered from ‘brain drain’ whereby most proffessionals are leaving their home countries after finishing their studies to travel abroad in search for greener pastures.

A country like Zimbabwe, for example, has cheap education compared to universities in Europe. In most cases, students in the medical field would prefer to study in Zimbabwe and then go abroad soon after graduating because they will get paid ten times more in European countries. However, this will strain the home country’s health sector as there are always shortages of doctors. Same applies to those studying Engineering, they are the generation who are expected to assist with building the country’s infrastructure when they finish school. These two professsion should be required to work in their home country where they did their training.

Zimbabwe has introduced a new policy for those in medical field, those who are studying nursing or medicine are no longer granted their certificates after graduating. This law came after a serious shortages of nurses and doctors for the past few years. They are now required to work for at least seven years before getting their certificate. It can seem to be cruel to individuals but this will an advantage to the majority of the population because they had started going to neighbouring countries in search for better and faster medical attention.

However, travelling to other countries after training is a positive thing to some extent, doctors and engineers will gain more knowledge. When the come back to their motherland they will able to apply what they have learnt from other countries. Which will be a good thing.

In conlusion, some proffesions should be required to work in their countries of training for a certain period of time before they move to other countries.