Some people believe that public health within a country can be improved by government making laws regarding nutritious food. Others however think that health is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

There is a debate about whether governments should create laws relating to nutrition and food choices, while some believe that individuals should choose food themselves. In my opinion, although governments should restrict some unhealthy food that can pose a serious threat to our health, I also believe that people should be given the opportunity to choose what to eat.

On the one hand, authorities can restrict or ban food that can harm people, which is likely to cause serious diseases. In many countries, parents care a lot about nutrition of a child and often prohibit fast food. A clear example of this can be seen in UK, where in some big restaurants unhealthy food is forbidden, because of the request of individuals. Furthermore, unhealthy food contributes rising childhood obesity rates in many countries. According to the World Health Organization, most of the children suffer from obesity caused by fast food. As a result, one of effective ways is banning unhealthy food by the government, because many people do not know the consequences of fast food as it seems delicious. Such an approach may cause disagreements between teenagers, but can be supported by the older people and parents.

On the other hand, individuals should have an opportunity to choose food. Food choice shows independence and lifestyle, while most uninformed about diseases caused by fast food. Teaching children about nutrition helps them develop food choices. As a result, such an approach helps individuals live healthy life.

In conclusion, although people have an opportunity to choose food, while unhealthy food should be banned by the government. Lack of knowledge about consequences of unhealthy food leads people to suffer from obesity.