Some people believe that public libraries are no longer important in the modern world and should be closed. Others argue that libraries still play a crucial role in society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Even though public libraries are the center of knowledge, claims have been raised that these institutions have lost necessity in the twenty-first century and should not exist anymore. I agree with this statement and think that the libraries should be turned into museums and the literature should be made available online.

Those who have the same concerns as me, can argue that going to the libraries to study has lost its attraction due to the advent of the internet. People are more accustomed to reading online in the comfort of their bedrooms or offices, where physically travelling to a library is quite difficult in this era full of rush. Also, public libraries may not be suitable anymore as the growing population can make the environment crowded.

On the contrary, some people are arguing to keep these facilities to remind the younger generation of the ancient ways of reading and learning. A serious environment is always present in a library, which makes one eager to focus and read. Again, libraries hold a psychological attachment for the people who make the best use of it. They want the ancient books and scrolls to be preserved where they belong.

In my opinion, people should not be nostalgic about these places and keep them to rot as the number of visitors has decreased significantly in recent times. Turning these places into museums, on the other hand, may be a way to conserve history. The theme of these museums can be inspired by the specialty of the books kept in the libraries. This may satisfy the opponents as well as modernize the historical places.

In conclusion, a common ground for the argument of the public libraries can be found in converting rather than completely destroying them. Digitalization and online publication of the literature can therefore be the new libraries for the new generations.