Some people believe that school should be taught how to grow food and how to cook as a part of their lessons at school. what is your opinion about this or do you agree or diagree with this ?

Many people suggest that schools should include practical skills such as growing food and cooking in their curriculum. However, i disagree with this proposal due to certain reasons of it.

One main concern of teaching growing and cooking food to children is safety. While gardening and cooking food are required to use of sharp tools such as knives and shovels, therefore it biggest risk for younger children is using them, as they might be unable to handle them properly. As a result, for the teacher, it is very difficult to supervise the whole class during this practical session.

Additionally, including these subjects into curriclum increases academic burden on students specially who are not interested in such subjects, they may feel frustrated and will do it forcefully. Core subjects are more essential for learning than focusing on these subjects, due to this, gardening and cooking lessons decrease the productivity of students, as they can get less marks in the main subjects.

In my opinion, gardening and cooking can increase the financial burden not only on the school authorities but also on the parents, as school authorities have to provide space for gardening and cooking rooms as well as parents have to pay extra fees for these subjects. These subjects should not be added in the school lessons.

To sum up, teaching these skills of gardening and cooking to school children is not a suitable decision due to certain negatives of it. If students have an interest in these skills, they can learn at home under the supervision of their parents.