Some people believe that school students should be required to do some social work after lessons Do you agree or diagree?

Nowadays a group of individuals adheres to the view that school children should be obliged to get engaged in unpaid community service after classes. I partially agree with this viewpoint, because it can have both detrimental and beneficial effects on their lives.

On the one hand, I am deeply persuaded that forcing the school students into free social service can enable them to improve their practical life skills. In this way, they can master soft skills such as collaborating in different communities, reaching out needy people, communicating with new people, caring for the environment etc. In addition to this, by working in community service even without payment the students can gain experience that can be beneficial in their future career. They can get easily used to being a part of a working community, taking responsibility and realizing their duties in their workplaces.

On the other hand, I support the idea that free social work cannot be obligatory for the students, because it can slow down their academic progress. If they are forced to get involved in unpaid social work, barely can they have enough time to allocate for their studies, rest and refreshing their mind after their daily hectic schedule. Moreover, it is another concern that making free social work mandatory for the school students is quite illegal, which is considered a kind of exploitation of child labor. In almost all the countries to use child force is prohibited, instead of it school students would rather join volunteering activities or educational courses that they can enjoy rather than feel under pressure.

In conclusion, while I advocate the idea that the school children can significantly benefit from free community service in terms of gaining experience and important soft skills, I also hold a view that it is not legal to force the students work in free social service for different reasons. It should be optional so that only willing students who have spare time can apply and enjoy their activity without feeling pressured.