Some people believe that space travel is a waste of government money while others believe it is important for human development. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

It is said by some people that mankind is wasting its resources on exploring outer space, whereas others believe that there is an essential need in investigating our universe. There are valid arguments on both sides, which will be discussed below.

On the one hand, there are some undeniable reasons why some people believe that it is necessary to explore the universe. For one thing, people can protect our planet by minimizing the risk of it being destroyed by universe objects. For example, scientists can predict when and where an asteroid to save all terrestrial living things. Another reason is that by discovering the universe, we may one day find a life-sustaining planet. If one day the Earth should become uninhabitable, that planet may become a new home for mankind.

On the other hand, other people argue that instead of using resources for studying the universe, mankind should pay attention to dealing with the Earth’s problems. First, the Earth is becoming hotter and hotter due to the harmful emission of greenhouse gases, threatening the lives of millions of people. In order to tackle global warming, more resources should be allocated to reducing the level of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases. Second, humans are also facing a lot of risks of nuclear wars or pollution which can wipe the human race out shortly. Therefore, resources should also be used to make the Earth safer and more liveable by narrowing the gap between countries and getting rid of pollutants.

In conclusion, although there are some justifiable reasons for spending resources on space programs, I would argue that those resources should be used for other current problems of the world nowadays.