Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The place of sports within the educational system has been widely debated, as a group argues for it to be an essential part of schooling while another continues to argue that sports should be played only if one likes doing so. In this essay I will investigate both opinions before giving reasons for my opinion that sports should take a precedence, while remaining adaptable in the schedule during school.

Supporters of making sports participation compulsory assert that an active form would play a lead role in physical activity being at the core part and parcel of the life’s children. Participating in sports, which already encourages physical well-being to combat the growing epidemic of obesity and resulting chronic disease among youth is also providing a foundation for key life skills. Team sports, for example teach cooperation and discipline as well as grit beyond the field of play. Additionally, those longer periods of time in structured PE provide a break from academic stress and promote positive mental health. Conversely, educational studies have concluded that students who regularly participate in physical activity perform higher meaningfully academically, indicating that there is a variety of evidence supporting the dynamic cognitive value to be gained from sport.

On the contrary, there are those who fight for voluntary team opportunities in sports because not every kid has a love for playing physical games. Mandatory sports might create a dislike for everything physical and cause some mental or emotional distress. Additionally, the focus on sports can take away from academics- for gifted scholars who may have been due to Physical Education. It is debatable to whom this one angle of talent applies: because schools need a variety of students in the long run and storge talents, there are many people who specialize more than just for their aggregate achievement. However, an optional follow-up of a frame but back-filled with invitation without commitment could mediate those perspectives.

In conclusion, some treat sports as a core part of child-rearing; others see it as optional. I maintain that sports should be completely optional, but as a beneficial source of exercise and character-building. This requires an approach that is balanced between personalisation (where the individual choice for some students may be a lower level of physical activity) and helping support those with higher potential to participate in physically active games through advocating more strongly the benefits related.