Some people believe that students should begin learning a language very early in school while others think these subjects should be taught later. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Many people think that allowing student to learn a new language as soon as possible is necessary, while the opponents argue that focusing on compulsory school subjects is more vital. I strongly agree with the later opinion because attending school put enough pressure upon students’ time and capabilities.

According to the first school of thought, they believe that young minds should learn other language in the latter stage of life because schools subjects alone have created significant burden. To explain, students have to deal with a substantial number of tasks given by their teachers in order to achieve good assessments such as PowerPoint slides, homework, experiments, projects. Thus, they have minimal spare time to familiarize themselves with a completely strange language. For example, natural science subjects namely Math, Biology, Chemistry, Physics are extremely difficult for students; therefore, they have to devote the majority of their time in a day to understand all the concepts. If they start learning a new language, it would be understandable if they couldn’t balance between the two. So it is better for the youth to study a new language later on as they will have the time available to fully dedicate into leaning alien languages.

According to the second school of thought, they are in favour of children learning a new language at a young age due to them having a fertile mind. To elucidate, children are sharp-minded, they can learn new vocabulary, grammar better than adults so that they require less time to master. To exemplify, children who start to learn French or Spanish at an early age, after years of practice, they become experts in those particular language. As a result, it is helpful as they will not face any language barrier latter on in life.

To conclude, it is true that while learning a new language prior to maturity could help student overcome language difference in the future since adolescents achieve it easier. However, that will not only put tremendous pressure on student but also shake away their concentration on compulsory subjects.