Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When they finish school, teenagers face the dilemma of whether to get a

job or continue their education. While there are some benefits to getting a

job straight after school, I would argue that it is better to go to college or

university.

The option to start work straight after school is attractive for several

reasons. Many young people want to start earning money as soon as

possible. In this way, they can become independent, and they will be able

to afford their own house or start a family. In terms of their career, young

people who decide to find work, rather than continue their studies, may

progress more quickly. They will have the chance to gain real experience

and learn practical skills related to their chosen profession. This may lead

to promotions and a successful career.

On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for students to

continue their studies. Firstly, academic qualifications are required in many

professions. For example, it is impossible to become a doctor, teacher or

lawyer without having the relevant degree. As a result, university

graduates have access to more and better job opportunities, and they tend

to earn higher salaries than those with fewer qualifications. Secondly, the

job market is becoming increasingly competitive, and sometimes there are

hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Young people who

do not have qualifications from a university or college will not be able to

compete.

For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that students are more

likely to be successful in their careers if they continue their studies beyond

school level.