Some people believe that success in life depends on hard work and determination, while others think that factors like money and social status play a more important role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

“Success is for those who are gifted.” Some say. Is that the reality? Does every obtained achievement come from a gift meaning therefore, the unlucky people can’t get to the level of the gifted ones? Lets dive into the reality; what brings success, and what prevents it? Do money and social status bring the success or the hard work and determination are the key for it.

Maslow’s —Pyramid of the Needs—suggests a hierarchy of needs, and classifies them. In order to talk about a factor, its place must be well-defined. For example, before mentioning the need of love, it is neccesary to check if the person’s primary needs are met or not—e.g., the security, the health. These primary needs render move up to the higher echelons. Therefore, the social and financial status gain importance. Although there are people that achieve the summit from nothing, it would be neglecting the impossibilities gone through. Therefore, a strong social and financial status facilitate the sustainable process. From that point of view, it wouldn’t be surprising to say that they play an important role; however, considering the stories of succes, they definitely aren’t enough. Meanwhile, there are some areas defined as the richs’ belonging, because of an entering cost being well-above from what people can afford—e.g., F1 drivers need to pass through some expensive training because of the equipment costs. Those kind of expertises hinder entering, and render impossible to talk about for those who can’t afford the minimum.

On the other hand, a dedicated and persistent manner does almost the whole job—supposing the minimum requirements are met. If the status would be sufficient for the success, there wouldn’t be any rich being unsuccessful. If they were all successful; than wouldn’t the defition of the success change, and set to a higher level that renders the succesful into unsuccessful? In that case, these status act as a barrier between those who can get through and be a candidate for success while others can’t even pass the primary phase of the path.

The success is defined by the percentile not by the quantity, and on top of the list, people that are dedicated and self-sacrificed always find their place. They carry their ambition within their heart and mind—no matter how hard they’ve been through. From a different point of view, people usually confuse the hard work, and find themselves in an insolvable situation in which they either give up, or try in vain. This misconception of hard work turns the potential into an absolute waste, and even causes some psychological problems—e.g., depression caused by a false self-actualisation.

Since it is asked to compare whether the success depends more on hard work and determination or the status-related factors (i.e., money and social status), I sincerely think that most of the time dedication, determination, and persistency are the leading factors of the success. The fact that there are some examples that the entering barrier is pierced by those who seek to follow their dream is the literal proof of anything can be achieved by anyone; whilst the desperates can’t make any progress, let alone being successful.