Some people believe that success in life depends on hard work and determination, while others think that factors like money and social status play a more important role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

‘Success in life.’ I often find myself wondering about life, in a philosophical manner. Success is subjective. It varies person to person and is largely dependent on one’s upbringing. For instance, consider my own experience, I define success is being able to spend my time as I wish. Example, I want to build an exoskeleton for industrial workers during leisure. The money I earn from a 50-hour work week is sufficient for a family of four. I am confident in my success because I have the resources, time, and community support to do it. In contrast, I found that for our apartment’s security guard, being able to feed his family and educate his children and settle them well is his life’s goal. Is the society supportive to him?

I come from a middle-class family. Our guard’s daughter and me are of same age. We grew up together, doing homework and playing games after school. She helped me with my math homework. The chances and opportunities provided to us are different, I attended a private school while she attended the local public school. Despite the circumstances, both of us toiled our way with a common goal and singular focus to make our parents happy and proud. The results are promising, I graduated with a Bachelors degree from a University while she completed her Diploma from State Polytechnique College. I enjoyed work. She excelled at earning a double promotion and a flat. As a friend, it made me proud.

I am narrating this story to highlight the various factors affecting our journey. I can afford coaching and training, she cannot. Learning a new skill, getting a referral for an intern or job is dependent on personal connections and network. This makes things easier for me and tougher for my friend. Is it hard work and determination alone or money and social status too playing a role?

It is difficult and challenging to succeed when one is struggling to get by. There are government policies and schemes for the underprivileged and economically weaker sections but is money making all the difference? Sure, it does, having opportunities and more open-minded society helps. Though, it is the determination to be better than the position they are currently in, aware of their situation and circumstances but still fighting through all of it is what makes them successful.

I strongly opine with grit and determination, anybody, irrespective of their financial or societal status can and will achieve their dreams and be successful. People’s beliefs are based on their needs. It is what makes them or breaks them.