Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.

Parents around the world are debating whether home schooling is a better option for their child. While in the past schools were essential, modern ease of access to the internet has made home schooling a much more viable option.

The major benefit of homeschooling is the ability to tailor the teaching to the child’s needs. This can range from focusing on their weaker subjects to using methods that are suited to them such as visual or auditory learning. Furthermore, homeschooling can be to less stressful for the child while also being more economical for the parents.

On the other hand, schools are more structured and ensure each child receives all the necessary and up-to-date educational material. Although a school syllabus can feel restrictive, teachers are highly specialised in their subjects and can are well versed in the structures of important exams such as A-levels, IB, and GCSEs. Additionally, schools have more equipment for science experiments, computer science and physical education. These are especially expensive since a parent would uses it a handful of times.

So is homeschooling a viable option for parents? The answer, in my opion, is more nuanced than yes or no. I believe that the circumstances of the family are an important factor to consider. My parents, for example, didn’t have the required resources or knowledge to properly educate me in all subjects therefore schools were necessary for my education.

To conclude, if parents have the resources, time and knowledge to homeschool their children then it can be benefitial. However, the majority of families cannot provide all of these for their children and schools are a better option for them.