Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

The argument over whether learning at home or at school is better for children has not been settled yet. Whereas home education offers better protection with individual learning and opportunities for families to bond, schools have a superior range of material and human resources. Ultimately, I think the school experience is best for children.

There are several advantages for children who learn at home. Firstly, they can spend more time with their parents and siblings. Many social problems are associated with families not spending enough quality time together. Moreover, teaching children at home also provides them with an individualised learning environment. Instruction is custom designed and moves at the child’s own pace and in accordance with his or her individual learning style. Finally, home schooling protects children from bullies and others who might be a negative influence. For instance, there is a wealth of statistics in relation to bullying both in the UK and overseas which is regularly reported in the media. Therefore, home-schooling presents a safer environment for young learners.

On the other hand, the school environment also offers many advantages for children. Firstly, schools encourage children to socialise with their peers and learn how to cope with gossip, bullying and peer pressure. Thus, schools provide ideal circumstances for juveniles to experience real-life conditions. In addition, children receive better tuition across a range of disciplines, as schools have teachers who are trained in special subjects such as mathematics, physics, and chemistry. What is more, schools provide better access to physical resources such as laboratories, sports equipment, musical instruments, and library books. Consequently, schools grant learners more practice which prepares them better for future careers.

I believe that children are better off in a school environment. Although family time and individual learning are important, the range of expertise and resources that schools offer cannot be matched in the home. School environments may present difficult social situations, but so too does the real world and children must learn to navigate these on their own.