Some people believe that technology causes more problems for modern society than it solves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that there are more issues triggered by technological advances than their benefits. I completely agree with this notion since they cause unemployment and promote inactive lifestyles.

The first reason why I believe the development of technology may bring more demerits than merits is that innovative technologies can trigger an increase in the unemployment rate. More specifically, employees are deprived of numerous jobs by advanced technologies since they surpass their abilities in various aspects. For instance, a substantial number of builders in Japan are being replaced by robot engineers in the building sector since they perform with more accuracy and speed and are preferred in dangerous situations. Additionally, as technology is applied in many jobs, workers are required to acquire certain IT-related skills; therefore, those who are not proficient at technological skills such as using computers or operating machines would likely be made redundant. This would give rise to the growing rate of national unemployment.

Another justification for my argument is the prevalence of the sedentary lifestyle in modern society. With the proliferation of computer-based and digital entertainment, people are more likely to opt for staying at home and passively viewing screens rather than participating in outdoor activities. Consequently, a host of physical and mental health problems can be induced, which deteriorates public wellbeing. To illustrate, according to a survey in 2020, Vietnamese adults tend to play electronic games after working hours and refuse to engage in fitness activities, resulting in an increase in health problems such as obesity and poor vision.

In conclusion, I strongly advocate the opinion that technology offers more downsides than benefits because more people are being driven out of a job and pursuing a sedentary lifestyle. It is advisable that more regulations on technology applied in the labour market and the way people entertain should be imposed to mitigate the abovementioned issues.