Some people believe that television is a powerful education tool. Other people believe that television is nothing more than mindless entertainment and should be discouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the growing trend in online education, various forms of media are encouraged to be used for the development of a child. Television, an extremely common technology used for entertainment, is known to stream numerous forms of shows, whether they are for educational purposes or strictly for entertainment. It depends on an individual’s perspective on how they differentiate one from the other.

Let’s first look at how television can be powerful tool in education. Televisions can be great source for students to learn new and different ideas and can help them to form an opinion of their own. Various television channels such as Discovery Channel and NatGeo, can be extremely helpful for children to learn outside classroom. Such programs not only serve as a mode of entertainment but also encourage the students to go above and beyond their usual curriculam.

The alternative view, however, argues that television is a form of mindless entertainment and hence should be discouraged. Televisions can cause hindrance in a child’s education if not used wisely. It is no surprise that some programs are produced entirely for the purpose of entertainment and although it is not a big deal to take some time off of studies for a quick break, it can end up being addictive, and waste a student’s time if not used with proper consideration.

In conclusion, it is important for one to understand where the balance between education and entertainment lies. Television can help a student exponentially if used in the right manner. Various educational programs can help a child gain new interests and hobbies, whereas an excess in watching television can be severly harmful for the overall growth of the child.