WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Today a big number of individuals prefer to be entrepreneurs, rather than to do a job in a corporation. This essay will explain that this trend is mainly caused by the desire for independence, while also discussing the disadvantages, such as financial risks and longer working hours.

The main reason why many people want to be business owners is the desire for independence. This means that individuals can make their own decisions without being controlled by a manager. In addition, they are able to select their working hours and organise their tasks in a way that suits them best. For example, a large range of younger generations start online businesses so that they can work from home and manage their time more freely.

On the other hand, being self-employed also has several flaws. One major drawback is the financial risk, as people may not have a stable income and can lose money if their business fails. Another issue is that self-employed men and women often have to work longer hours in order to earn enough and keep their job running. For instance, many business owners work at night and even on weekends, which often leads to high levels of cortisol and burnout, as they do not have little time to rest or spend with their families.

In conclusion, more and more citizens prefer to be entrepreneurs because they are motivated to be independent. However, this trend has drawbacks, including financial risks and longer working times.